March 30

The Creature From the Sand

“Hey Aury! Look at this thing!” my younger cousin said as I raised my hand to block the sun. I walked over to him and squinted my eyes to see what it was. I could barely hear him with the sounds of the waves crashing onto the shore. When I finally saw it my cousin scooped up the creature, from the grainy sand. He smiled, “It’s a  baby!”. I looked at his hand and froze in place. “Hold it Aury! hold it!” he said practically jumping up and down.

 At that moment, my soul left my body. He placed the creature in my hand and I shrieked! The creature peeked out of its shell .I just stared at it, and it stared back with its evil beady eyes. I had the urge to just flick it off my hand like it was a piece on lint, but I didn’t. It slowly popped out of its shell, and it started to move around my hand with its small orange legs . It tickled  but it didn’t feel as pinchy as I imagined it would. It was just a harmless little thing.

My cousin said “It’s not so bad is it?”. Now that I’m looking at the creature, it’s a bit cute. “Can I get it back ?” he said. “Okay” I responded. I gently handed him the creature really slowly, afraid it might fall. He just looked at the creature with a mischievous grin and he lifted his arm and just threw it at my brother. My brother screamed and ran away at the speed of light. The poor creature! At least it was back home, on the warm sand. 

I’ll never forget the Hermit crab, whose shell was plopped on my hand. I’ll never forget the shock that made me freeze. I’ll never forget The laughter that bursted out of my cousin after This happened. But I’ll never forget this day which made me happy and kept me smiling for days. I’ll never forget this day even if I never go on vacation again, or never go to that sunny beach again. Never ever.


Posted March 30, 2023 by ausantiago in category class writing

3 thoughts on “The Creature From the Sand

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*