April 4

When I Got Him.

“Okay guys… Get in the car!!” Mom yells, we all run down the stairs and without hesitation all jump into the car. On the way there my heart is beating a thousand miles per hour, I gaze out the window and admire the farmland and the beautiful abstract figures my mind depicts out of the flourishing green trees and vines. As we arrive at the white colored farmhouse I look towards the door and can’t hold back my excitement anymore, I run up onto the porch and knock on the old rustic wooden door. As the rest of my family poured out of the car, the door slowly opened and i’m greeted by a smiling face. She welcomed us in, a thick wall of scent smacked me in the face as soon as I walked in, it smelled like fresh bacon. As we all follow the lady into the kitchen I get the first glimpse of him. He stood up from his nap and jumped on top of the plastic gates that he was surrounded by. I knew he was the one right when the lady said “he’s definitely the most energetic out of the bunch.” 

On the first night he was home I ran down the stairs dragging a dark gray sleeping bag into the kitchen. I laid it down on the cold kitchen floor right next to his cage. I laid there all night because I was so obsessed with the dog that I couldn’t leave him for a second. All throughout the night I would open my eyes once in awhile to make sure he was okay, his nose would twitch and his tail wagged from his vivid dreams, it felt like I was awake all night just looking at him.


Posted April 4, 2024 by chasewann in category class writing

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*