March 28

unbroken

Cancer. What a chaotic word. It causes my mind to spiral like a tornado tearing through a town. Spiraling thoughts. Spiraling fears. Spiraling memories. Dumping me again and again back into the start of that terrible storm.

I sat, stiff and straight, on the edge of the exam table, silently nodding along while she talked through my chart. My belly bulged in front of me, but instead of rubbing it absentmindedly, my sweaty hands were clasped in my husband’s. The buzzing lights cast a bright, white glow and paper crinkled beneath me with every fidget. Finally, the doctor pushed her computer screen aside, rolled her stool to face me and said, “This is the cancer you have” while pointing to the bottom of her handwritten list. 

I remember I didn’t get it at first. My body suddenly felt heavy and her words jumbled into a buzz. “This is the most common and treatable up here, but you buzz, buzzzz, buzzzz…” The room wavered in an out of focus.  My husband’s fingers twined with mine: clear. The penned statistics: blurry.  The stretched stripes black and white across my belly: clear. The printed lab requests: blurry.

Then, like a rubber band stretched too tight, everything snapped back into focus when she said, “You’ll need to deliver as soon as possible – this weekend even.”

My voice shook as I asked question after question, but I didn’t cry. My mind raced as I thought about the risks to me and the baby, but I didn’t cry. My fingers twisted in nervous knots as we visited doctor after doctor to plan the early delivery, but I didn’t cry.

I didn’t cry until, hours later, we pulled into my parent’s driveway. My two year old sprinted off the front porch running straight for me, blond curls bouncing. Burying her wet face in my neck, she cried, “Mommy, don’t leave me.” Those four words broke me. But I decided right there, tears dropping into the dust, that I wouldn’t let it break us.


Posted March 28, 2023 by msvirgin in category Personal Writing

About the Author

The most important part of my life is my family. I have a toddler who keeps me on my toes, two adopted dogs who brighten my day with sloppy puppy kisses, and a supportive husband who's by my side through it all. When I'm not spending time with them, I'm at school with my students. I teach 9th grade, creative writing, and public speaking and I advise for the GSA. A few of my hobbies include working out, riding my bike, and camping. These are also some of the topics I like to write about. I tend to pull most of my writing from my personal and professional life.

3 thoughts on “unbroken

  1. owesterfield

    My favorite line is “Burying her wet face in my neck, she cried, “Mommy, don’t leave me.” I like this line because I think that it just made her happy that she said that and decided to do it.

    Reply
  2. julbaker

    I like how you focused on one part of this big memory and a big part of your life. It let me focus on the one idea you were expressing in the writing.

    Reply
  3. bbcomanda

    “My husband’s fingers twined with mine: clear. The penned statistics: blurry. The stretched stripes black and white across my belly: clear. The printed lab requests: blurry.” These lines are so good. I love the contrast of what is unknown and what isn’t.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*