October 24

The Princess Bride

By:Maddy Davis

Do you love an adventure? Well what about, “fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, miracles,”? Then The Princess Bride is for you. This 1987 classic is a movie that I grew up to love and live by. I always had a fascination with this movie, and for the longest time I thought it was just a movie, I had no idea that there was an actual book! And so from the words of the grandfather, who tells the story, “When I was your age, television was called books.” I still haven’t read the book, but I am looking forward to it because the movie was so amazing.

When a handsome hero enters a story, I always seem to just fall in love with them. Main character, Westley (played by Cary Elwes), would have to be the most handsomest man ever to enter this earth. I mean come on! For everyone who has seen this movie, don’t you just get happy feelings when Westley says, “As you wish” to his beloved Buttercup (played by Robin Wright)? His valor, strength, and determination are all things to be jealous of.

Then there are the relatable moments throughout the movie. Miracle Max (Billy Crystal) and his wife, Valerie (Carol Kane), “Get back, witch!” “I’m not a witch, I’m your wife!” Their playful banter reminds me of my own parents. No, my dad would never call my mom a “witch” but they do call each other “old man” and “old lady.” Max and Valerie bring a sense of comic relief to the story.

So what has this told you? The Princess Bride is great. Yes, but also no, The Princess Bride provides for all. It has the adventure, the action, the comedy and the romance that everyone is looking for. Have you ever sat with your significant other or family members and just thought about what you might watch? Or argued what type of movie you might watch? Well now you don’t have to.

So for those of you who haven’t seen this movie, watch it! Watch it and comeback to comment your thoughts and feelings about the movie. And for those of you who have seen it, comment your thoughts, feelings, and emotions. And if you have any suggestions or thoughts for me that would fit in this category, let me know in the comments.

Also if you think you might like The Princess Bride then you might like these movies below.

Robin Hood: Men In Tights

Monty Python And The Holy Grail
<
The NeverEnding Story
Ever After
Hook
A Knight’s Tale
Spaceballs


Posted October 24, 2018 by Maddy Davis in category Nonfiction Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*