November 10

Rosey

By: Bailey White

 

If there are alleys inside me, there must also be hallways. I take a walk inside getting Rosey.

 

Rosey was my grandma’s cat and we had to watch her for a week; She’s this beautiful gray, silvery kitten. She’s a year old now but still small. My grandma kept asking us to keep her for a little longer and then eventually asked if we wanted to keep her for good. We said yes and she’s been my baby ever since.

 

Ever since then, we’ve been each other’s emotional support.

 

Whenever I have a stressful day at school, she’s always there for me. I go in to see her and she lays her head right on my shoulder. I head to the bathroom and she sprints after me wondering where I’m going, waiting for more snuggles.

 

The next morning, she comes in and chirps at me waiting for me to get up so she can be held. We have our morning conversation and the cycle continues.

 

Those are the best conversations.

 


Posted November 10, 2023 by msvirgin in category class writing

About the Author

The most important part of my life is my family. I have a toddler who keeps me on my toes, two adopted dogs who brighten my day with sloppy puppy kisses, and a supportive husband who's by my side through it all. When I'm not spending time with them, I'm at school with my students. I teach 9th grade, creative writing, and public speaking and I advise for the GSA. A few of my hobbies include working out, riding my bike, and camping. These are also some of the topics I like to write about. I tend to pull most of my writing from my personal and professional life.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*