November 4

Cancún

I gazed at the lush environment of trees enclosed next to a dark oak bridge. As I approached the ocean the wind increased in velocity, my hair swaying back and forth. A moment of peace before vibrant beach volleyball. Sitting on a rectangular balcony catching up with friends back home.

Golf cars whizzing by with people complaining about a pool being dirty. Palm trees swaying back and forth in an almost dance like movement. The tresillo beat could be heard throughout the park. Strolling across the tiny stores that are set up at night. People pester me to buy small petite dolls and shiny jewelry. When the moon was past  it’s peak I would scurry past the merchants. Not a soul near when I would enter the beautiful matte black gym with translucent lights shining down. I would have to work to accompany the amount of food I had consumed. 

Waiting diligently in the line to get a table for the tiki bar, it was worth the wait. The extravagant design and structure of the food created a creative atmosphere. As I would consume unquantifiably large amounts of dishes. Trying different cuisines from different continents. Desserts upon desserts trying to balance my meals was difficult. The volleyball games were high octane with even more tresillo loud beats in the background. Rapid waves would be sent back and forth alongside the human sized volleyball. On the plane ride back I would reminisce of the enjoyable experience of Mexico.

 

 

 


Posted November 4, 2022 by henrywe in category class writing

4 thoughts on “Cancún

  1. aprilzl

    I really like how you describe your experience in cancun it makes me feel as if i’m there too, I really like this one sentence, where you described the palm trees dancing !! I like how it’s really creative and how it’s detailed!!

    Reply
  2. davidce

    As someone who’s never been to Cancún your description really made me feel as if I’ve been there multiple times and know what it looks and sounds like.

    Reply
  3. msvirgin

    I like the listing style you chose for this piece – it covered the overall feeling/experience of the trip without overdoing it. It made me want to keep reading and know more!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*