March 22

Boxing

I walked into the gym, and the heater hit my face almost immediately. The heavy bag hanging on the ceiling. People sparring inside the ring sweat dripping down their arms. Snake-like sounds leave the boxer’s mouth as he throws a jab ‘Shhhhh”. Coach yells for me, waking me up from my honest shock. I grab a jump rope and skip, the rope walking on the ground with a “thwip” on every skip. After 30 sec on and 30 sec off I’m put into the ring to shadow box. 

 

My Black Venum Boxing gloves hitting nothing but air. My Wrestling shoes that I hope no one notices moving around the tarp covered ring. I twist my back foot and my hips with every hook. My jab turns as I throw it. the 3 minute timer ends and I get a 40 sec break. Then I thought “This is gonna be fun”. It wasn’t.


Posted March 22, 2024 by parkerau in category class writing

3 thoughts on “Boxing

  1. msvirgin

    You brought us right into the action of this experience. I love how you ended it with a twist that makes me want to know more!

    Reply
  2. gjuarez

    I really liked how you captured the physical action of boxing, as well as leaving us readers with a twist.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*