March 22

5271 Days Old

5271 Days Old

Five thousand two hundred seventy one. That’s how many days worth of memories I have to choose from. How do I pick one that’s the most memorable? 

I mean, I could write about the time I fell between the train tracks and concrete that made my family panic? I could write about the time I stayed up till 3:30 A.M talking to my friend on a school night? The time I went to Hershey Park with my friend and went on candymonium, on which we fainted? Any late night conversations with that one friend? Lunch in Ms. Virgin’s room? Waking up at 4:00 A.M. to watch the sunset? Paddleboarding? Laughing while reading and people staring at us? Going to the bay with my friends? 

I have thousands of memories. Five thousand two hundred and seventy one to be exact, but still. There are so many good and bad memories. My favorite memory may be staying up until 3 A.M. with my closest friend, on a school night, at my dad’s house. I had to keep quiet the whole night. We were on the phone, gossiping, for about 6 hours. We talked non-stop about everything and anything. I was so tired the next day, but it was worth it. It was one of the most fun and memorable nights of my life. The floorboards in my house creaked, causing me to whisper into the phone. It was dark in my room, the only source of light was the moon peeking in through the blinds. 

Five thousand two hundred and seventy one days worth of memories. I can’t seem to remember any other memory in as much detail as  I can with that late night phone call.


Posted March 22, 2024 by anniehenr in category Memory Writing

3 thoughts on “5271 Days Old

  1. msvirgin

    I so want to hear the story of you falling in between the train tracks! Great job bringing me into the specifics of the secretive of this memory!

    Reply
  2. sophiedon

    I like how specific you made the activities you did, it helped me bring myself into the memory more.

    Reply
  3. giuliaso

    the way you describe the memory makes it feel like the reader is there. I love the details and how you set the scene of the memory.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*