October 31

The Psoriasis Psuperhero

 

By: Kennedy Ross

   A shirt that is 2 sizes too big and is burned too bright is a shirt that has encompassed the last 6 years of my life.

   Starting since I was 10 years old, I have had Psoriasis, a chronic and autoimmune disease that severely affects your skin with plaques. The moment I knew I had this, the world had stopped. Everything had paused. I was alone with no one to help me. I was in a world that knocked me from a happy and colorful road to the rough and gravel filled sides. Though 2.2% of the U.S. population, or 7.5 million, have Psoriasis, it seemed like none of those people understood. I thought to myself, “where could they be?”

   Though I started out petrified and confused, like a deer in headlights, I have continued my journey for 6 years, where I have learned to be proud of my disease and to not hide from it. Since then, I have stumbled upon NPF, the National Psoriasis Foundation, which took me from a small force that had only recently felt empowered, to a household name of many NPF ambassadors, volunteers, and speakers.

   I had become a sort of celebrity in this community, but I realized that being optimistic was not enough to bring awareness of this disease. Relying on adult volunteers and fundraisers to spread my name was not enough, so I had to expand my reach.

   The first thing I did was to submit an application to be a Youth Ambassador. At the time, I thought this was pointless because I knew that I would probably never get picked to hold such a prestigious role. But, sure enough, 6 weeks later, I became a Youth Ambassador! Now knowing that I was worthy of grasping this position, I started to raise money for NPF and attended all of the events that they held in my area. Every time I went to these events, I was given a shirt.

   Since I had raised so much money for every event, I got a special shirt. A shirt that makes you stand out in the crowd, no matter if you want to or not. A shirt that trapped people when they glanced over to you and forced them to walk over you in a trance-like state. It is a shirt that is as luminous as a traffic cone, but it is a shirt that encloses my need to donate and raise awareness for this disease.  

   Every time I take out my shirt and glaze over it, I realize just how much this shirt has done for me. It has reminded me that I stand out in the crowd and attract people to me. It has also taught me to continue to bring about more knowledge to Psoriasis and to fight for a cure.

   Overall, this shirt has changed my life for the better and has taught me the power of being positive, which is a power that should be spread more often throughout the world.

 


Posted October 31, 2018 by kennedyross in category Nonfiction Posts

2 thoughts on “The Psoriasis Psuperhero

  1. meredithbrown

    This is really good, Kennedy! I love how you turned such a tough situation into something so beneficial and inspiring.

    Reply
  2. msvirgin

    Not only has this shirt changed your life, but your work and commitment has surely changed the lives of others. This writing is powerful and inspiring!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*