June 1

Essays of David Foster Wallace

I studied ‘Consider the Lobster’, an essay written by author and critic David Foster Wallace. I was particularly interested in his prose style and the way that his unique syntax adds to the piece. For my own writing, I deviated in subject matter – mine was much less philosophical – but still tried to incorporate elements of his style, like footnotes. (I also tried to make it slightly stream-of-conscious, like his, though I’m not sure how effective this was.)

Read more here

 

 


Posted June 1, 2023 by bciresa in category class writing

About the Author

I love raccoons, berets, and writing. I love to write about pop culture and feminism, though I make most things I write about Tennessee Williams in some way.

1 thoughts on “Essays of David Foster Wallace

  1. msvirgin

    I have never heard of this writer before, but after reading the writing he inspired (and laughing out loud several times), I think i need to look him up. I really enjoyed the Middle School focus you took and the humor you spread throughout your writing. Strong voice!

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*