May 8

Someone I thought I knew

Ouch. The back of my head throbbed with pain as I grazed my hand across it, a large bump had formed. I tried to pry my eyes open but a layer of cloth had covered them, in a panic I pried it off and threw it as far away from me as I could get it. Panic raced through every part of my body when I realized I was not in my college dorm anymore. The back of my legs had stuck to the cold metal floor when I tried to move, my abdomen wrenched with pain and soreness as I sat up. I scanned my body, still wearing the same shorts as I was wearing the night before, tan khaki cargo shorts stained with dirt and splashes of deep red, my jersey torn at the side and covered in dirt and the same deep red splashes.

 I shifted my feet out from under me to see that my shoes and socks were missing, around my ankles was a piece of duct tape hanging on by a thread, I tore that away leaving some of the sticky residue on my ankles and threw it in the same direction as the cloth. I looked around the room, a square small room no bigger than a 6ft x 8ft cell, the walls were brick that looked like they have been painted with white paint many years ago because the paint was chipping, the floor was sheet metal that was cold and stale on my legs, I looked up at the ceiling to see yellow and pink installation with pipes running across it in alternating patterns. Panic set through me with the realization that there are no windows or doors in this entire room, not a single exit, just a small trap door not even a small child could slide its way through. I shot up ignoring the pain in my side, “Hello?! Anyone? Why am I here? Help please!” My throat stung with my words, I waited there waiting for a reply, nothing. I started to pace thinking about every possible scenario as to why I was in this situation. Was I kidnapped? Held for ransom? Apart of some terrorist scheme? 

My breath started to quicken along with my heartbeat, I fell to my knees and started to fold into the fetal position when the trap door opened and a small dollar store like walkie talkie fell to the floor in front of me feet, I jumped up to catch the trap door, “Help wait why are you keeping me here? Who are you? Why do you want me? WHAT DO YOU WANT ME TO DO WITH THIS?” The trap door slammed shut with no response from my captures. I grabbed the walkie talkie and pressed the button on the side, “Hello?” I said in a shaky voice “Hello there Jacob, I’m glad to see your awake” The voice was eerily similar, “Mom?” The fact that my mother answered the walkie talkie was weird enough, but what was weirder was that I thought my mother had been dead for the past 7 years. 


Posted May 8, 2024 by giannasa in category class writing

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*