November 5

A Blade in a Palm, AW

A Blade in a Palm

August Wardwell

 

I sleep in my cozy sheath

Warm leather and secure

I feel safe from the battle

that I am to be subjected to

 

He takes me out again

I feel the sharp flash of a slash

the wind itself is being split by me.

Against my will

 

He is struck down in battle

I feel the thud of my metal against the earth

and the cold blood on me.

I feel the grass on my body

 

I am saddened by the loss of my friend

who never knew me but cared so deeply.

I am passed to his son and forced to watch

my dearest friend leave.

 

I wake up and am in darkness

my metal having no reflection or direction.

I start to feel relief as I realize where I am.

I am in the lost clutter of a box

 

This void gives me comfort

That I will never be used

at least for a while.

And I can be comforted by the nothingness.


Posted November 5, 2020 by awardwell in category class writing

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*