October 30

2014

A day in 2014

Do you remember? I do

They day i met you

You a nerd, reading the dictionary for fun

Me clueless, public schools we used to shun

A Brotherhood, a pact formed strong

I can’t remember what went wrong

A feeling alien to poem or song

We would talk all day long

Mischief and trouble, that’s what we would get into

Adventures and stories, the tales were told as we grew

And things got hard, in my life and yours

School wasn’t fun anymore, all of the classes were bores

I closed-out everyone, sadly, including you

Please don’t take it personally, I was hurting and i’m sure you knew

And our pacts started to rust

Like an old photo album collecting dust

And then I moved, so sudden I know

I remember those tears, begging me not to go

After everyone left, you stayed with me

It was dusk when you arrived, and dawn when you left

When it was all over, my soul had a deep cleft

But still that day we ended smiling in glee

I remember driving away from my house, looking at it fade

Just three years, but it feels like a decade

But even though, that day we were parted

I’m glad that it ended the way it started

Two strangers

In 2017

Tags:

Posted October 30, 2019 by Uncle Cletus in category class writing

About the Author

I can only read the english language

3 thoughts on “2014

  1. arappagray

    I can really relate to this and feel your emotions through this writing. I really liked this and the words you used to describe.

    Reply
  2. Джекоб

    This is a really cool take on the assignment. I like the way you wrote the piece as a poem instead of prose. You have a very nice use of capitalization to provide emphasis to “Brotherhood”. The way that you used the two dates provides a good sense of closure.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*