May 10

Bedtime Story

“Goodnight!” I yelled downstairs.  Walking up the stairs, I hear a noise coming from down the hallway.  I just ignored it and went into my room.  I turned on the TV and put on my favorite show.  I hear a knock on my door.  Everyone had already gone to bed though.  Who could it be?  I thought to myself.  Maybe Emma or Henry couldn’t fall asleep.  I opened the door and there was no one to be seen.  I looked down the hall and glanced down the stairs but I didn’t see anyone. 

 I went back to my room and went back to bed.  This time, I heard a knock from my window.  Ok, who could this be?  I opened my curtains and still, no one.  I closed my blinds and curtains, making sure the windows were locked and went back into my bed.  I should go to bed to get my mind off this and maybe it will stop.  

But it didn’t.  

I was sleeping and this time there was a knock coming from the front door.  I tried to wait a couple minutes to make sure there wasn’t another knock and went into Emma’s room and asked her if she heard the knocking too.  “Emma, have you been hearing knocks too?” “Yes,” she answered.  I checked outside my door and there was no one, “have you seen anyone?”  “Nope.  Let’s go ask Henry.”  Emma and I walking to Henry’s room we hear another knock from the front door.  We get to Henry’s room and see him lying awake on his bed. “Emma, Layla, did you hear those knocks?” Henry asked.  “Yes,” I replied.  “We were coming in to check in on you to make sure you were okay.”  “I wish mom and dad were here,” Emma said.  “They will be back tomorrow but what do we do until then?”  “Let’s stay in Henry’s room, for now.”  We turned on the TV and tried to go to bed but I woke up to the sound of the front door opening.   

“Emma! Henry! Wake up! I screamed silently.  I heard the front door open up! Let’s go hide in the closet.”  As we hid in the closet, we heard footsteps coming up the stairs.  “We have to stay quiet so no one hears us.”  I said.  The door to Henry’s room, slowly opening up, I peek out of the closet door.  

But there was no one.

Man hand knocking on the door in a dark place., Stock Video - Envato Elements


Posted May 10, 2023 by owesterfield in category class writing

About the Author

my name is olivia, i am 14 and almost 15. i love to play with my dog. i love playing tennis and having fun! i also like to hangout with my friends.

3 thoughts on “Bedtime Story

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*